Several MEPs and Eminent European Politicians Call for Supporting Morocco

You are here
  1. Home
El Guergarat
Brussels - Several MEPs and eminent European politicians have called on the High Representative Joseph Borell to support Morocco in its efforts to secure free movement of goods and people through the demilitarized zone of El Guergarat.

The MEPs in question, belonging to the European People's Party, the Socialists and Democrats, Renew Europe, as well as several political figures deputies "have expressed their concern over the mounting tensions following the violation of the demilitarized zone by the armed polisario militias".

These MEPs, as reported by the EU Political Report, welcomed the establishment of a security cordon by Morocco which has thus shouldered its responsibilities, after the violation of this demilitarized territory allowing the reopening of the border with Mauritania and sub-Saharan Africa”.

The same Report also pointed out that these political figures have reiterated their support to “the necessary reactions to any threat to the security and peaceful life of the region's citizens.”

Despite the attempts at conciliation by UN Secretary General Antonio Guterres and the concerns expressed by the international community, the reopening of the border post has been repeatedly blocked by the armed militia of the "polisario", added the Report.

The MEPs called on all parties to the conflict to redouble their efforts in a political process of peace, and to resume this reopening of negotiations on the basis of clear parameters involving the real parties to this regional dispute.

The list of signatories includes Sandro Gozi (Renew Europe), Jo Leinen, MEP and former minister (S&D) (Germany), Ramona Manescu, (PPE) former member of the European Parliament's Foreign Affairs Committee, vice-chair of the delegation for relations with the Mashreq countries (Romania), Jean Pierre Audy (PPE) member of the Bureau of the Association of former members, former head of delegation (France), Cristian Dan Preda, (PPE) former member, European Parliament's Foreign Affairs Committee (Romania), and Cécile Kyenge, (S&D,) former minister (Italy).

It also includes Philippe Boulland, (PPE) former mayor of Betz (France), Hugues Bayet, (S&D) MEP (Belgium), Paul Rubig, (PPE) former member of the European Parliament's Committee on international Trade, member of the economic and social committee (Austria), Mercedes Bresso, (S&D) former President of the committee of the regions (Italy), Tomas Zdechovsky, MEP, (PPE) vice-president of the committee on employment and Social Affairs (Czech Republic),  Ilana Cicurel, MEP (Renew Europe) delegation for relations with the Maghreb countries (France).

In the same category

Read More
Twitter Notifications Facebook Language selector Search icon Menu icon Message icon Closing icon YouTube icon Scroll icon Arrow down Map of Morocco icon Map of Africa icon Map of Europe icon world's map icon Navigation Arrow Eye icon Sharing icon Point icon Play icon Pause icon News actuality icon Extend icon Print icon Social network share icon Calendar icon Whatsapp icon Journalist icon Radio icono Television icon Quote icon Location icon world's map icon Pin icon Previous icon Next icon PDF icon Icon to increase the text Icon to decrease the text Google plus icon Decree icon Organigram icon Icon left arrow Instagram Linkedin icon